Radical: Your Thoughts?

Posted: June 10, 2011 in america, books, culture, money, video

I was recently blessed with two gift certificates to Amazon.com for my birthday.  Greatest gifts ever.  I’ve spent the last few days contemplating what I might buy with my sudden influx of “book money.”  While I’m still struggling to decide on a few things (ask my wife how bad I am at picking out gifts), I have already settled on two books in particular: David Platt’s Radical and Radical Together.  I’ve listened to a couple of Platt’s sermons and read an excerpt from Radical, and on each occasion was impressed and convicted.

But before I jump in, I thought it might be nice to get some perspectives from people who have already read one of his books.  If you’ve read Radical or Radical Together, what were your thoughts?  Were you convicted, angered, dismayed, or encouraged?  Would you recommend his books?  Have you changed anything about your life since reading his books?

Here’s a trailer for the books:

Comments
  1. scott says:

    Iv’e read Radical, not gotten to Radical together yet, But Radical is a great book similar to Don’t Waste Your Life by John Piper in its message. Loved the book and David Platt has quickly become one of my favorite pastors to listen to so great choice.

  2. Heather says:

    RADICAL IS EPIC. Seriously, a great conversation-starter and a good way to take a deep, long look at how were actually living life. I liked it better then Don’t Waste Your Life (But it also has a better title… so i mean it gets points for things like that).

    I usually compare it to the irresistible revolution by Shane Claiborne… except biblically sound.

    I was talking with a book store lady, and she said radical together had been even better (which only makes sense, great books + conversing about them with other people can only be better)

  3. Heather says:

    p.s: What have I changed about my life – well meeting in homes instead of coffee shops for fellowship time/bible studies so we can give that money away. That’s been the only practical step so far… were figuring out others. If you have any ideas let me know.

Leave a Reply

