John Piper Interviews Rick Warren

Posted: May 27, 2011 in books, christianity, conferences, desiring god, god, gospel, theology

Coming out of the 2010 Desiring God Conference, John Piper recently sat down with Rick Warren to discuss his theology, especially as seen in his book, The Purpose Driven Life.  It’s an excellent interview in which Warren shares a lot of insightful stuff about his vision of God, the Bible, the Gospel, and the Christian life.  I have to say, I was impressed and encouraged.  I appreciate Piper’s words when he writes,

My aim in this interview is to bring out and clarify what Rick Warren believes about these biblical doctrines. In doing this my hope is that the thousands of pastors and lay people who look to Rick for inspiration and wisdom will see the profound place that doctrine has in his mind and heart…

Rick and I are very different in methodological instincts and inclinations. I take almost the exact opposite approach in preaching—wanting to make the theological categories explicit and to show how I got them from the text. But then I am not even close to the fruitful evangelist that Rick is.

We both have chosen risky ways. There are pitfalls of short- and long-term unfruitfulness. But in the end we do not govern the impact of our lives. God does. We do what the Bible and our hearts call us to do. I believe Rick’s is a faithful heart. Listen to the clarity of his doctrinal commitments and hear the heartbeat of his love for Christ and those perishing without him.

Leave a Reply

