Doug Wilson on Lady Gaga and Yearning for the Infinite

Posted: May 24, 2011 in culture, god, misc, secularism

Doug Wilson recently posted an article entitled “Even If You Use a Spatula” containing some insightful comments on the innate human longing for the infinite – something to fill the “God-shaped vacuum” within us.  He writes,

So what does this have to do with the front page of my iTunes store? If you are like me, you have been recently confronted there with an image of Lady Gaga, striking quite a pose, being as outlandishy as she can be. But the most impressive thing about this to me is the sheer finitude of that outlandishness. I mean, you can only put so much eye make-up on, even if you use a spatula, and then, there you are, the world’s most decadent and voluptuous raccoon.

To change the metaphor, you pick up a wet dishrag, soaked through with your outlandishness, and you twist it and twist it, and when you are done — finite creature! — you only have enough outlandishness to fill a medium-sized saucepan.

Try something else! Faster, faster! I know, a meat dress! Wait, wait . . . comb your hair funny!

You know what this kind of outré rebellion is? It is craning your neck back as far as it can go in order to express your contempt for the heavens by spitting at the nearest crab nebula. Let me know how it goes.

Comments
  1. Matthew says:

    Personally, I find Gaga to be one of the most interesting figures in all of culture right now.

    A colleague and I were just discussing the other day: “Is she trying to always push the envelop and be ‘weird’ in purpose? Or, is she just so overflowing with artistic ability that she doesn’t even realize she’s ‘weird?'”

    I landed on the side that said she (although may occasionally push the envelop for sales purposes–likely motivated by her sales agents) is just trying to be “free” and express herself while not worrying about criticism.

    I do find her Judas comments peculiar and rather disturbing. In fact, a few weeks ago, I tweeted her, politely, to repent and place her affections onto Jesus and leave this Judas nonsense behind.

  2. Matthew says:

    BTW, how do you stay current on Douglas Wilson?

    Ever since he debated Hitchens, I have found him really helpful and interesting. Although, I’ve heard he can be legalistic.

  3. Matt Tully says:

    I just read his blog from time to time. He’s an insightful and articulate guy, and I enjoy reading him. I’ve never come across anything I would term “legalistic,” however (not that I’ve read everything he’s ever written).

Leave a Reply

