A Commitment Unto Death

Posted: March 29, 2011 in books, Jesus, obedience, quotes

Absolute obedience to the will of God, of course, was the controlling principle of [Jesus’s] own life.  In his human nature he continually gave consent to the will of his Father which made it possible for God to use his life fully according to its intended purpose.  Repeatedly he sounded it out: “My meat is to do the will of him that sent me, and to accomplish his work” (John 4:34); “I seek not my own will, but the will of him that sent me” (John 5:30; cf., 6:38); “I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in his love” (John 15:10; cf., 17:4).  It could be summed up in his cry of Gethsemane, “Not my will, but thine be done” (Luke 22:42; cf., Mark 14:36; Matt. 26:39, 42, 44).

The cross was but the crowning climax of Jesus’ commitment to do the will of God.  It forever showed that obedience could not be compromised – it was always a commitment unto death.

– Robert Coleman, The Master Plan of Evangelism, p. 57, emphasis mine

Leave a Reply

